Criterion 10 · Criterion 3 · Criterion 9

Our bicultural heritage

I always feel a bit concerned when it comes to meeting the requirements for this part of the Practising Teacher requirements but when I have a think about it, there are a few different ways that I do this.

1. Every Monday morning at our staff meetings we begin by say the following karakia. At first we were very timid and out of time with each other but after several weeks we are finally sounding confident and in sync with each other. It is a lovely ritual and start to the day.

  

2. I love to play music in class after I have introduced the lesson for the period. My students really enjoy it too as it creates a warm and relaxed atmosphere. At the start of the year I put on the Top 40 playlist on Spotify but we all became a bit bored with hearing the same songs all the time. Recently I found a NZ playlist of roots, dub and reggae. It has some relaxing and chilled music on it which doesn’t hype anyone up! Some of the lyrics use Te Reo, an example of this is Tahuri Mai Ra by House of Shem. 

3. At the ADE Institute that I attended recently we split into Geo groups. The kiwis sung a waiata for the Aussies which was well recieved. We enjoyed being able to share our culture with them.

  

Leave a Reply

