Criterion 10

Bicultural Contexts

In my teaching, how do I take into account the bicultural context of teaching and learning in Aotearoa New Zealand?

1. Greetings!

Kia Ora! Kei te pēhea koe? This greeting, which I learnt at teacher’s college, is a favourite way to greet my students. Some of them look at me as if I’m speaking a foreign language, which, to them, I kind of am I guess! But a few will reply ‘Ka Pai Miss!’ which is always really cool.

2. Matariki

Last year I created this task for my year 9 class:

Image

3. Ethnicity and Performance Data

I have created a Pages table for my Maori and Pasifika students which I will add to as the year progresses. It includes name, ethnicity, what I have noticed about their learning style, my planned way of approaching each student to help them, information that I have gathered about their background and any learning issues. The next thing to look at is the Performance Data in Kamar which I will add to my file.

Leave a Reply

